


This program was created to help victims and family 

members with the many costs associated with violent crime. 

The program provides financial help to crime victims and 

families for expenses such as:

• Medical/dental/mental health and medication benefits

• Loss of financial support (wage loss)

• Grief counseling / Funeral expenses



• Must occur in Washington

• Must be a gross misdemeanor 
or felony

• Must be reported within 1 year 
to law enforcement or when the 
crime could have reasonably 
been reported.

• Application must be received 
within 3 years of law 
enforcement filing date.

• Victim must provide reasonable 
cooperation with law 
enforcement to apprehend and 
convict the offender

• Injury cannot be a result of 
consent, provocation or 
incitement

• Victim cannot be in the 
commission of a felony crime

• Victim cannot be convicted of a 
felony crime against  persons 
within 5 years & has not 
completely satisfied all legal 
financial obligations. Benefits 
cannot continue should a victim 
be convicted of a felony against 
persons after a claim has been 
allowed. 

• Victim cannot be incarcerated at 
the time of the criminal act

• Vehicular crimes must be 
vehicular assault, vehicular 
homicide, failure to secure a 
load in the 1st degree, or DUI



Crime Victims

• File a police report. 

• Use our online application tool

• https://secure.lni.wa.gov/cvbenefits

• Complete the Application for 

Benefits - Crime Victim form. This 

form is also available from 

advocates and health-care 

providers. 

• Provide as much information as possible, 

sign, date, and mail or fax the form.  

If using a paper application: 

Fax to 360-902-5333 

or 

Mail to:

Crime Victims Compensation Program

PO Box 44520

Olympia WA 98504

https://secure.lni.wa.gov/cvbenefits


• The CVCP is the payer 
of last resort.  

• This means if the 
applicant has insurance 
we can pay only after 
primary insurance has 
paid.  
If there is primary insurance 
the service providers must 
first send the bill to the 
primary insurance.

After the primary insurance 
has been exhausted, the 
service providers bill CVCP.

• Other insurance 
includes:

• Medical insurance

• Public health/Medicaid

• Auto/life or 
homeowner’s insurance 
policies

• The claimant should not 
be receiving bills for 
services covered under 
the claim.



• Medical benefits are limited  to $150,000. 

• All other non-medical benefits are limited to $40,000 with other maximums applied:

• Wage loss: $15,000

• Limited pension: $40, 000 (including any wage loss or burial paid) 

• Burial:  $6,170.00

• Increased to $6620.00 as of 07/01/2020. 

• Increase to $7990.00 as of 07/01/2023

• Funeral expenses include such costs as burial, cremation, cemetery plot, headstone, 

and funeral service.

• An itemized statement for burial expenses must be received within 24 months of 

claim allowance or release of the remains.  

• As with other CVCP benefits, payment is secondary to other insurance benefits. 

• A permanently disabled victims or the spouse, registered domestic partner, or 

dependent children of a deceased victim, may be eligible to receive limited wage 

replacement benefits. Payments are based on a percentage of the victim's wages.



The common reasons a claim is denied is:

• No police report filed

• No signature on the application

• Crime not committed in Washington State.

You can protest or appeal any decision of the Crime 

Victims Compensation Program.  It must be submitted in 

writing within 90 calendar days of the date of the decision 

you disagree with.



No… some instances are not covered.  They are in 

part:

• Identity theft. 

• Personal property crimes. 

• Crime scene cleanup. 

• Expenses covered by other insurance. 



Web site: www.lni.wa.gov/crimevictims
Toll free phone number:  1-800-762-3716

CVC fax number:  (360) 902-5333

Mailing address:

PO Box 44520

Olympia, WA 98504-4520






