
Post-Adoption – Questions and Answers
Answers to questions about the adoption support program,  
and resources that may be available to assist you in raising your child.
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Introduction
CONGRATULATIONS on your decision to adopt.  
By adopting, you have established an emotional, 
social and legal relationship with your child.

Raising a child can be challenging. In 1971, the 
Washington State Legislature passed the Adoption 
Support Demonstration Act to establish an 
Adoption Support Program to make adoptions 
possible for children with special needs. Later in 
1980, the federal government passed the Adoption 
Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980- PL 96-272, 
that provides federal funding for the adoption 
support program.

The Department of Children, Youth, and Families 
(DCYF) provides adoption support services by 
entering into a contract with you prior to finalizing 
the adoption. This contract allows DCYF to provide 
post-adoption resources for medical coverage, 
counseling, selected evidence-based therapeutic  

 

interventions and if agreed upon, a monthly cash 
payment to assist you in meeting the needs of  
your child.

This booklet will help you find answers to questions 
about the adoption support program and identify 
potential community resources that may be available 
to assist you in raising your child. Your adoption 
support program consultant is also available to 
answer questions regarding the program’s resources.
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Questions and Answers

Contacting Adoption Support Staff

:	Q Who should I contact when I have a question 
about my agreement or services?

:	A Contact the person who negotiated your 
contract. If you do not know the person who 
negotiated your contract, dial 1-800-562-5682, 
listen carefully to the recorded message and 
follow the prompts. If you live outside the state 
of Washington, contact the consultant who 
assisted you with your initial agreement. 
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The Adoption Support Agreement

:	Q What is the adoption support agreement?

:	A The adoption support agreement is a legal 
contract between you and DCYF. The agreement 
identifies the terms and conditions that both you 
and the department must follow for participation 
in the adoption support program.

:	Q When does the agreement become effective?

:	A Unless otherwise stated in the agreement,  
the contract takes effect the date the adoption  
is finalized.

:	Q What if the child I adopt is over the age of 13, 
does that make a difference in support?

:	A If you adopt a child 13 years through 17 years, the 
child will be considered an independent person 
for Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FASFA). If you adopt a child over age 14 through 
age 17 years, the child maintains eligibility to apply 
for the College Bound Scholarship program. If you 
adopt a child over 16 years through 17 years, the 
child may be able to continue in the extended 
adoption support program until age 21 if they 
meet the following criteria:

•	 Participation in high school or high school 
equivalency certificate program/GED.

•	 Attending college or vocational school 
program, or has applied for and can 
demonstrate intention of timely enrollment in 
secondary education.

•	 Participating in a job training or activity that 
assists in removing barriers to employment.

•	 Engaged in employment for eighty hours or 
more per month.

•	 A youth is not able to engage in the above 
eligibility categories due to a documented 
medical condition.

In addition, youth in the extended adoption 
support program may be eligible for the 
Education and Training Voucher Program (ETV). 
More information on this topic is found in the 
Education Section.

:	Q When does the agreement end?

:	A The agreement ends when:

•	 The adoptive child reaches age 18 (unless the 
child is attending a full time education program 
working toward a high school diploma or high 
school equivalency certificate/GED).

•	 Upon the death of parents or the child.

•	 You are no longer legally or financially 
responsible for the child.

•	 A child who was adopted between ages 
16 through 17 no longer meets the requirements 
set forth in the extended adoption support 
agreement after age 18.

:	Q Will I receive a notice regarding termination of 
the program before my child turns 18?

:	A You may receive a notice advising you that the 
agreement will end on the child’s 18th birthday. 
It is your responsibility to contact the adoption 
support program at least 90 days before your 
child’s 18th birthday. Adoption support benefits 
will automatically stop on your child’s 18th 
birthday unless the program hears from you.

:	Q What if my child is 18 and is still a full time  
high school student or working full-time  
toward the completion of a high school 
equivalency certificate?

:	A If this is the case, your child may remain on the 
program if, before the child turns 18, the parent 
requests that adoption support continue and a 
letter is received on school letterhead that states 
that the child is a full time student and provides 
an expected date of graduation.
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:	Q May I ask for a revision of my agreement?

:	A Anytime there is a change in family circumstances 
or the child’s condition, you may ask to revise the 
agreement by writing to your adoption support 
program consultant. Your consultant will advise 
you on the documentation you will need to 
submit regarding your child’s special needs and 
the current circumstances of your family.

:	Q What changes in circumstance require that 
I immediately notify the adoption support 
program consultant?

:	A Notify the adoption support program consultant 
immediately when:

•	 The child is no longer living in your home.

•	 You are no longer legally responsible for  
the child.

•	 There is a change in your permanent address.

•	 The child or parent dies.

•	 There is a change in marital status of  
the parents.

•	 There is a change in legal or physical custody of 
the child.

•	 The child becomes eligible for another 
federal program i.e. Social Security benefits, 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits, 
Veteran’s Administration benefits or Temporary 
Aid to Need Families (TANF).

Program Benefits

Monthly Cash Payment

:	Q Does the adoption support program cover all 
the costs of raising my child?

:	A As the parent(s), you are financially responsible for 
the needs of your child. The adoption support 
program should combine with your resources to 
assist you in meeting the ordinary and special needs 
of your child. The extent of support needed by you 
to help meet the needs of your child is determined 
through discussion and negotiation between you 
and the adoption support program consultant.

:	Q What should I consider when negotiating the 
monthly cash payment?

:	A When you begin to negotiate your child’s support 
agreement, there are three factors that can be 
considered:

•	 The expenses that address the special needs of 
the child.

•	 The circumstances of the family.

•	 The legislative maximums allowed by RCW.

The needs of your child pertain to his or her 
special medical, physical or emotional needs. 
“Family circumstances” have been defined by the 
federal Children’s Bureau as meaning a family’s 
ability to incorporate a child’s needs into the 
family circumstances. Income, debt, housing, 
transportation, space, family size, parental 
occupations, parental health needs, the needs of 
other family members and any number of other 
factors are considered. There is no set formula in 
determining monthly cash payments.

It is important to remember that the monthly 
cash payment may be changed through revision 
of the agreement, if your child’s needs or family‘s 
circumstances change. The monthly cash payment 
is not negotiated based on anticipated problems.

The Washington State Legislature limited the amount of the 
monthly cash payment to the legislated maximum of the 
foster care maintenance expense that a child would receive if 
the child were to be in foster care. As a result, the negotiated 
amount may start at $0 and cannot exceed the legislative 
maximum. The legislative maximum is based on the age of 
the child at the time of adoption.
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:	Q How is the adoption support monthly cash 
payment determined?

:	A The monthly cash payment is determined through 
a negotiation between the adoptive parents and 
the DCYF Adoption Support Consultant. The 
payment combines with the parents’ resources to 
cover the ordinary and special needs of the child 
projected over an extended period of time and 
should not cover anticipated needs.

The agreement considers a variety of family 
specific factors:

•	 Size of the family.

•	 Usual living expenses.

•	 Special needs of any family member.

•	 Family income.

•	 Family resources and savings plans.

•	 Medical and hospitalization needs.

•	 Family’s ability to purchase or receive care.

•	 Any other expenses needed by the child to  
be adopted.

It should be noted that consistency among 
families in the adoption support monthly cash 
payment is not the goal of the program. Families 
with the same income and similar circumstances 
will not necessarily agree on identical types or 
amounts of assistance. It is the uniqueness of 
each child/family situation that determines the 
monthly cash payment.

Information found: 42 U.S.C. § 673 (a), 42 U.S.C. § 673 
(a) (3), Child Welfare Policy Manual 8.2D.4 (Q.1), WAC 
110-80-0220 and RCW 74.13a.025.

:	Q What benefits other than a monthly cash 
payment is provided through the adoption 
support program for each adopted child?

•	 Medical and dental benefits through Medicaid.

•	 Pre-authorized counseling assistance.

•	 Evidenced-based therapeutic interventions.

•	 Reimbursement up to $1500 per child for 
adoption expenses.
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Medical

:	Q What type of coverage does Washington Apple 
Health (Medicaid) provide for children on 
adoption support?

:	A Apple Health (Medicaid) is provided at no cost 
and covers your child through:

•	 A program at Coordinated Care of Washington 
(CCW), called Apple Health Core Connections 
(AHCC), as primary insurance for both physical 
and behavioral health, or

•	 The following secondary insurance programs 
if you place your child on your personal health 
plan:

	- ProviderOne (fee for service) for  
physical health.

	- A Medicaid Managed Care Organization 
(MCO) for Behavioral Health Services 
Only (BHSO) for behavioral health. In 
most regions, the assigned MCO will be 
Coordinated Care.

:	Q What types of services are covered by  
Apple Health (Medicaid)?

:	A The physical and behavioral health services listed 
below are covered by Apple Health for adoption 
support families:

•	 Applied Behavioral Analysis

•	 Behavioral Health

	- Inpatient 

	- Outpatient

	- Wraparound with Intensive Services (WISe)

	- Substance Use Disorder (SUD) treatment

	- Psychiatric Services

	- Family Therapy

	- Parenting Interventions (Triple P, Incredible 
Years, PCIT, etc.)

•	 Dental

•	 Doctors/Providers

•	 Emergency Room

•	 EPSDT (Well-child checkups and preventative 
care for children up to age 21)

•	 Eyeglasses and Eye Exams

•	 Gender Affirming Medical Care

•	 Home Health Services

•	 Interpreter services for medical care

•	 Medical Equipment and Supplies

•	 Prescriptions

•	 Surgery

•	 Transportation (through regional brokers)

Some services have limitations. For more 
information, check with your medical 
provider or contact the Health Care Authority 
customer service center at 1-800-562-3022, 
extension 15480, or if your child is a member 
of CCW-AHCC contact 1-844-354-9876 or 
AHCCTeam@coordinatedcarehealth.com . 

mailto:AHCCTeam%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
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:	Q How do I get medical services through 
Washington Apple Health/Medicaid?

:	A Once the adoption has been finalized and 
you have updated your child’s name with the 
Social Security Administration, you can contact 
the Foster Care Medical Team (FCMT) at 
1-800-562-3022, ext. 15480 to request your child’s 
updated ProviderOne coverage and card, or 
contact your Adoption Support Consultant.

In Washington, adoption support families 
may receive their coverage through the 
managed care plan through Coordinated 
Care of Washington, Apple Health Core 
Connections (CCW-AHCC). If your child is a 
member of CCW-AHCC, they will reach out 
to you via mail and phone, or you can contact 
CCW-AHCC directly at 1-844-354-9876 and 
AHCCTeam@coordinatedcarehealth.com .

:	Q Why do I need a ProviderOne Services card?

:	A This is your child’s medical ID card, which 
confirms that your child is on medical assistance 
through Medicaid. If your child is covered by 
your personal insurance, this card ensures that 
you do not pay co-pays/deductibles (no out of 
pocket expenses) for Medicaid-covered services. 
If your child is insured through CCW-AHCC, the 
ProviderOne services card will be used for dental, 
eyeglasses and transportation.

:	Q Does the card have an expiration date?

:	A The ProviderOne card does not have an 
expiration date. It is not a guarantee of coverage, 
but is useful for keeping track of your child’s 
ProviderOne number.

:	Q What if there are mistakes on the ProviderOne 
Services card?

:	A Check your child’s card carefully to make sure 
everything on the card is correct. If anything on 
the card is wrong or needs to be changed, call 
your Adoption Support Program Consultant.

:	Q What if I lose my child’s ProviderOne  
Services card?

:	A If you lose your card, call the FCTM at 
1-800-562-3022, Ext. 15480 or the adoption 
support program consultant.

:	Q Can my child receive private insurance and 
Washington Apple Health/Medicaid?

:	A You are encouraged to enroll your child on your 
personal insurance. Your personal insurance is 
primary and Washington Apple Health/Medicaid 
is secondary. Please let the FCMT know if you 
have other health insurance. Call 1-800-562- 3022, 
ext. 15134. HCA will verify your primary insurance.

More Information about Medicaid:

Dental Care

Finding a dentist can be difficult. If you need help 
finding a dentist or transportation to the dentist, call 
the Medical Assistance helpline for a list of dentists 
in your area who take Washington Apple Health. 
If you are receiving services through CCW-AHCC, 
the program will assist you in locating a dentist; call 
1-844-354-9876.

ABCD – Dental care for babies and young children

Access to Baby and Child Dentistry (ABCD) is a dental 
program for young children up to six years old. 
Information is available at http://abcd-dental.org .

Getting Medications

You will not have co-pays for prescriptions covered 
by Washington Apple Health. You may incur a cost 
for medications that are not covered by Washington 
Apple Health. Your pharmacist can tell you if a 
medication is covered.

Eye Exams and Eyeglasses

Yearly eye exams are included in the coverage as 
are eyeglasses and replacement glasses. If there is 
a medical issue, your child between 6 and 20 years 
may be able to get exams more often.

mailto:AHCCTeam%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
http://abcd-dental.org
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Mental Health Services

Services for your child’s mental health needs 
are covered through both ProviderOne and 
Coordinated Care of Washington – Apple Health 
Core Connections (CCW-AHCC). Please contact 
your primary coverage provider to assist with this 
need. If your child is enrolled with CCW-AHCC, they 
have a dedicated team of health care coordinators, 
including behavioral health clinicians. AHCC staff 
can help identify appropriate services and providers, 
connect to evidence-based practices, provide 
coaching and support, help you establish a system of 
care, screen for risk of suicide, depression, anxiety, 
substance use and help you get the most out of your 
Apple Health coverage. Call 844-354-9876 or email 
AHCCTeam@coordinatedcarehealth.com and ask for 
Health Care Coordination.

:	Q Is it common for a child to need  
mental health services?

:	A A statistic from the National Alliance on Mental 
Illness, updated Sept. 2019, notes that one out of 
six youth, ages 6 to 17, experience a mental health 
disorder each year.

:	Q What if your child needs to see a mental health 
professional after adoption?

:	A When you open your heart and your home by 
adopting a child, you will experience unique joys 
and challenges as you raise your child. Although 
mental health services may not be needed until 
years after the adoption has taken place, at some 
point your child may need to see a mental health 
professional due to emotional, behavioral or 
developmental challenges. You may notice that 
issues surface as your child grows up, especially 
during the teen years. It is often helpful to sort 
out which issues are common to all children, 
and which issues are related more specifically 
to children who were adopted. Often, post-
adoption mental health services are covered by 
your primary insurance, Medicaid (ProviderOne 
in Washington), or as a preauthorized service 
through the adoption support program.

:	Q When should you find a mental health provider 
for your child?

:	A Talk to your child’s health care professional if you 
have concerns about the way your child behaves 
at home, in school or with friends. Timely help 
from a skilled counselor or therapist can address 
an initial problem before it becomes more 
serious. For example, you may seek mental health 
services because your child has:

•	 A marked drop in grades at school.
•	 Been worried and anxious about things.
•	 Trouble falling asleep, is waking up frequently 

or is having frequent nightmares.
•	 Been sad, moody or angry.
•	 Poor self-esteem.
•	 Been unable to cope with daily problems.
•	 Started abusing drugs or alcohol.
•	 Started hurting themselves.
•	 Strange thoughts or unusual behaviors.
•	 Change in eating habits.
•	 Withdrawal from friends, family and  

regular activities.
•	 Frequent complaints about physical symptoms 

often related to emotion, like stomach aches, 
headaches, fatigue, etc. 

•	 Comments such as, “I wish I was dead,” or “I 
wish I could go to sleep and not wake up.”

•	 Any drastic change in behavior, activities, social 
groups (aka possible indicators for trafficking).

:	Q How can you find a mental health professional 
for your child?

:	A Discuss your concerns with your child’s doctor, 
who can offer perspective and evaluate your child 
to rule out any medical conditions. Most doctors 
have working relationships with mental health 
specialists such as child psychologists or clinical 
social workers, so they may be able to refer you 
to a mental health provider in your area for the 
help your child needs. Also, you can ask friends, 
family or clergy about qualified professionals they 
recommend. If needed, your health insurance 
company can give you a list of the mental health 
providers in their network.

mailto:AHCCTeam%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
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:	Q How should you choose a mental health 
professional for your child?

:	A There are many different types of treatment 
approaches and professionals offering mental 
health services, but it is important to choose 
a professional who knows the unique issues 
facing adoptive families, is culturally aware 
and responsive, works well with your child 
and involves you in therapy. Typically, such 
a professional will fall into one of several 
professional categories:

•	 Psychiatrist 
A medical doctor with special training in 
the diagnosis and treatment of mental and 
emotional illnesses. A psychiatrist can prescribe 
medication, but often they do not counsel 
patients.

•	 Child/Adolescent Psychiatrist 
A medical doctor with special training in the 
diagnosis and treatment of emotional and 
behavioral problems in children. Child and 
adolescent psychiatrists can also prescribe 
medication, however, they may not provide 
psychotherapy.

•	 Psychiatric or Mental Health  
Nurse Practitioner  
A registered nurse practitioner with a graduate 
degree and specialized training in the diagnosis 
and treatment of mental and emotional illness.

In addition, your primary care physician, physician’s 
assistant or nurse practitioner (depending on your 
state) are often qualified to prescribe medication.

The following mental health professionals can 
provide psychological assessments and therapy, 
however, cannot generally prescribe medications 
(although some states will allow it):

•	 Clinical Psychologist – A psychologist with 
a doctoral degree in psychology from an 
accredited/designated program in psychology. 
Psychologists are trained to make diagnoses and 
provide individual and group therapy.

The following mental health professionals can 
provide counseling, however, cannot prescribe 
medication:

•	 Clinical Social Worker – A counselor with a 
master’s degree in social work from an accredited 
graduate program. Trained to make diagnoses, 
provide individual and group counseling, and 
provide case management and advocacy; usually 
found in the hospital setting.

•	 Licensed Professional Counselor – A counselor 
with a master’s degree in psychology, counseling 
or a related field. Trained to diagnose and provide 
individual and group counseling.

•	 Mental Health Counselor – A counselor with a 
master’s degree and several years of supervised 
clinical work experience. Trained to diagnose and 
provide individual and group counseling.

:	Q What should you look for when you talk to a 
mental health professional?

:	A Ask questions related to what you are looking 
for from a therapist. You may want to know 
how they approach working with patients, 
their philosophy, if they provide reports to 
you and who covers for them if they are not 
available. You may ask if they have a specialty, 
such as family or child counseling, training in 
trauma, grief and loss, attachment or experience 
working with adoptive families. You may want 
to give the therapist a brief description of your 
concerns and explain your family’s situation such 
as an open adoption, if your child experienced 
abuse, institutionalization, attachment issues, 
developmental delays and so on.

While experience and education are important, 
it’s also important to find a counselor your  
child feels comfortable talking to. Look for 
one who has the right qualifications and 
experience, the best approach to help your child 
in the current circumstances and values your 
involvement and support.
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:	Q How will fees be paid when you choose a mental 
health provider for your child?

:	A Find out if the mental health professional you 
choose accepts your primary insurance or Medicaid 
coverage and ask about their fees. If you do not 
have private insurance, your coverage is limited or 
if the therapist does not accept your insurance or 
Medicaid, check to see if your adoption support 
agreement provides for outpatient psychiatric 
and other counseling. If so, contact your adoption 
support program consultant before you start the 
service and request a Preauthorization for Services.

For those enrolled in CCW-AHCC, before 
utilizing preauthorization services, please 
call 844-354-9876 or email AHCC at 
AHCCTeam@coordinatedcarehealth.com for 
assistance in finding a Medicaid provider.

:	Q What is the Adoption Support Program’s 
Preauthorization for Services process?

:	A When you call the adoption support program 
consultant and request a preauthorization, you will 
be advised of the state rates, covered services and 
you will be sent the pre-authorization form. You 
must complete the first section of the form, the 
provider you choose must complete the second 
section. Once the form is signed by the parent{s} 
and provider, the provider returns the signed 
copy to the parent who will send the form to the 
adoption support consultant. Adoption support 
will pay the provider directly. Services that require 
preauthorization include in-home evidenced-based 
practices and individual counseling.

For evidenced-based practices, you will be sent 
information regarding the therapeutic interventions 
available for your children according to their age. 
The information will include descriptions of the 
services and how to choose a provider. The current 
services being offered to families receiving adoption 
support include: Promoting First Relationships, 
Incredible Years, Parent Child Interaction Therapy, 
Functional Family Therapy, Triple P, SafeCare, and 
Family Preservation Services. Many evidence-based 
services are covered by Medicaid. Contact your 
Apple Health plan to find out what is covered and 
to find a provider.

After completing the evidence-based practice 
service, it may be recommended that your 
family continue with individual counseling. Both 
processes involve following the pre-authorization 
request process.

:	Q What if your child needs a residential treatment 
program after adoption?

:	A Under WAC 110-80-0250, the adoption support 
program cannot pay for residential treatment 
placements. If you request residential treatment 
services due to:

•	 Your child’s mental illness, please call your 
primary insurance company or Apple Health 
plan.

•	 Your child’s diagnosis of physical, mental, 
developmental, cognitive or emotional 
disability, please call the Developmental 
Disabilities Administration (DDA) to determine 
if your child is eligible for services.

•	 A need other than treatment of mental illness 
or developmental disabilities, please call child 
welfare services intake at the local DCYF Child 
Welfare office.

•	 During a crisis or severe situation, you can  
self-refer to the Wrap Around Intensive  
Service (WISe) program operated by behavioral 
health and recovery, www.hca.wa.gov/health-
care-services-supports/behavioral-health-
recovery/child-and-youth-behavioral-health .

If your child is enrolled in CCW-AHCC and you 
believe your child needs intensive behavioral 
health services, including residential/inpatient, 
please contact AHCC at 1-844-354-9876 or 
AHCCTeam@coordinatedcarehealth.com for help 
getting your child the right services.

mailto:AHCCTeam%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
http://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/behavioral-health-recovery/child-and-youth-behavioral-health
http://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/behavioral-health-recovery/child-and-youth-behavioral-health
http://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/behavioral-health-recovery/child-and-youth-behavioral-health
mailto:AHCCTeam%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
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Education

:	Q Are there any educational programs specifically 
available for my child after high school?

:	A Youth adopted after age 14 can maintain their 
eligibility for the College Bound Scholarship 
Program. 

Effective Oct. 19, 2017, youth adopted between 
14 years and 18 years with a negotiated 
Washington adoption support agreement will 
continue their eligibility for the College Bound 
Scholarship. To determine if your child was 
previously eligible for this scholarship, contact 
the Washington Student Achievement Council 
at 1-888-535-0747 and select option 1 or email 
collegebound@wsac.wa.gov . 

To be eligible for the College Bound Scholarship, 
students must either qualify for free or reduced-
price lunch or be a dependent under chapter 
13.34 RCW. Dependent children must be in grades 
7 through 12 or be between the ages of 18 and 
21 and have not graduated from high school, 
or completed the high school equivalency 
certificate. In order to remain eligible for the 
College Bound Scholarship when they graduate 
from high school or receive a high school 
equivalency certificate, students must have a 
family income at or below 65% of the median 
family income and they must successfully enroll in 
postsecondary education. For additional eligibility 
criteria and information about the College Bound 
Scholarship application process, please visit 
www.wsac.wa.gov/college-bound .

:	Q Are there additional educational  
programs specifically available for  
any child after high school?

:	A The Education and Training Voucher (ETV) 
Program is available for youth who were in 
foster care and adopted on or after turning 16. 
ETV offers financial assistance to eligible foster 
youth to attend an accredited college, university, 
vocational or technical college. The ETV program 
helps students with their own efforts to secure 
financial aid to enroll in college. The maximum 
ETV award is $5,000 per academic year.

Awards are unique to each student and are based 
on the cost of attendance formula established by 
their college of choice and any unmet need they 
may have within their financial aid award.

•	 ETV can be used nationwide.

•	 Youth who participate and receive an ETV 
payment prior to age 21 can continue to receive 
ETV until age 23.

Application Process

ETV applications are located on the adolescent 
website www.independence.wa.gov or you may 
request a hard copy by contacting program staff at 
ETVWASH@dshs.wa.gov:

•	 The online application is for first time  
applicants only.

•	 The renewal application is for eligible returning 
applicants.

•	 The running start/dual credit application is for 
students who are in high school, have been 
approved to be in the running start program and 
are taking college level courses.

•	 The priority application cycle begins Jan. 1 and 
ends April 30 of each year. All applications 
received after April 30 will be placed on a waiting 
list and will be awarded on a funds available 
basis. The application cycle will close July 31. No 
applications will be accepted after this date.

•	 Youth must complete the Free Application  
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) each year on or 
shortly after October 1. Per federal guidelines, 
youth who were adopted on or after turning 
13 are considered independent for the purposes 
of applying for federal financial aid. However, 
colleges may require additional verification  
and request confirmation of when the  
adoption occurred.

•	 Youth must reapply to the program each year.

mailto:collegebound%40wsac.wa.gov?subject=
http://www.wsac.wa.gov/college-bound
http://www.independence.wa.gov
mailto:ETVWASH%40dshs.wa.gov?subject=
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Eligible Expenses

Once students have received their ETV award they 
may request assistance with the following:

•	 Tuition - All other forms of financial aid must first 
be applied toward the tuition.

•	 Books and supplies.

•	 Housing - Rent deposits, monthly rent payments 
and utilities.

•	 Grocery and personal hygiene items.

•	 Transportation - Bus pass, assistance with car 
insurance, gas, maintenance and repairs.

•	 Child care.

Requirements and Continued Participation in 
the Program

Youth are required to complete the ETV 
Participation Agreement, which outlines their 
responsibilities as an ETV participant. The main 
requirements include:

•	 Youth will need to meet their institution’s 
Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 
requirements, maintain a 2.0 GPA or better and 
show they are making progress toward a degree 
or certificate. 

•	 Youth must be enrolled at least half time or more, 
meaning six or more credits.

•	 Youth must be enrolled in at least one 100 level 
college course and eligible to receive financial aid.

•	 Youth must submit their class schedule at the 
beginning of each term and a copy of their 
unofficial transcripts at the end of each term.

For more information, visit the website at: 
www.independence.wa.gov or contact program staff 
at 1-877-433-8388 or kathy.ramsay@dcyf.wa.gov .

Adoption Finalization Costs

:	Q How may I receive assistance with adoption 
finalization costs?

:	A Adoption finalization costs are one-time expenses 
incurred in order to finalize the adoption. They 
include attorney fees, court filing fees, cost 
of physicals and home study fees. To receive 
reimbursement for these expenses, you must 
apply prior to the adoption being finalized. 
Maximum reimbursable costs are $1,500 per child. 
Reimbursement occurs once the adoption has 
finalized and is based upon actual costs up to the 
amount specified in the agreement. 

:	Q What is required for proof of payment?

:	A After the adoption is  finalized, your authorized 
costs will be reimbursed when we receive the 
following:

•	 Signed copy of the adoption decree

•	 A copy of the bills which show you paid for the 
service you itemized on the form

•	 A valid receipt for paid services, or

•	 A copy of a cancelled check.

Training

:	Q May I participate in trainings to better 
understand my child’s special needs?

:	A Your family is entitled to participate in all 
caregiver training opportunities provided 
by the Alliance for Child Welfare Excellence 
at www.allianceforchildwelfare.org, 
and Coordinated Care of Washington- 
Apple Health Core Connections at 
www.coordinatedcarehealth.com. Contact the 
adoption support program consultant for details. 

CCW-AHCC has a number of online trainings 
available for parents and also provides trainings 
in the community. For more information, contact 
CommunityEducation@coordinatedcarehealth.com .

http://www.independence.wa.gov
mailto:kathy.ramsay%40dcyf.wa.gov?subject=
http://www.allianceforchildwelfare.org
http://www.coordinatedcarehealth.com
mailto:CommunityEducation%40coordinatedcarehealth.com?subject=
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Additional Information

:	Q Do I have the right to a hearing if I disagree with 
a decision made by the program?

:	A You may request a hearing before an 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) if any of the 
following decisions were made by the program:

•	 Your child’s initial eligibility for the adoption 
support program was denied.

•	 The program consultant failed to respond with 
reasonable promptness to a written application 
or request for services.

•	 A request to change the level of payment or 
service in the agreement was denied.

•	 A decision to increase or decrease the level of 
monthly cash payment was made without your 
consent.

•	 A request for adoption finalization costs  
was denied.

•	 Your child was terminated from the  
program and you did not agree.

:	Q How do I request a hearing?

:	A You will be notified in writing regarding program 
decisions and informed of your right to a hearing, 
the deadline for requesting a hearing, whether 
your request for hearing must be in writing, where 
to send the request and whether you may make 
the request orally. You may also write to the 
Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) at:

Office of Administrative Hearings 
PO Box 42489 
Olympia, WA 98504-2489

All OAH offices have toll-free numbers. It is  
best to call the office closest to your location. 
Please review the website, www.oah.wa.gov, for 
the Administrative Hearings office closest to  
your location.

:	Q What happens after I request a hearing?

:	A The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) 
schedules a hearing and sends out a Notice of 
Hearing with the date, time and place of the 
hearing. Enclosed with the notice is important 
information about the hearing. Pay special 
attention to the enclosed brochure. Read it all. 
Read it carefully.

Next, the hearing representative from DCYF  
will contact the person who requested the 
hearing and any other interested party to discuss 
the case and try to resolve the disagreement. The 
DCYF representative’s phone number is written 
on the Notice of Hearing. You may initiate 
contact as well.

If you wish to review your file and make copies of 
documents that you believe are relevant to the 
hearing, you should call the DCYF representative 
to arrange a time to do this.

Sometimes the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) 
will schedule a pre-hearing conference. These are 
usually held by phone. If the ALJ schedules a  
pre-hearing conference, instructions about 
what can be expected will be included in the 
scheduling notice.

:	Q What if I want someone to represent me?

:	A You may hire an attorney at your own expense 
or you may represent yourself. Free and low 
cost legal assistance can be found on the 
http://oah.wa.gov website home page under, 
“How do I ... Find legal Assistance?” If you wish to 
be represented, your representative must be at 
the hearing.

http://oah.wa.gov
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:	Q Once the adoption is finalized, should I contact 
the Social Security Administration?

:	A Yes, when your child is adopted, you must 
contact the Social Security Administration to 
notify them that the adoption has finalized. The 
administration will update the child’s record with 
the new identifying information and issue an 
updated card.

Once you have updated the information with 
the Social Security Administration for your 
child, please notify Medicaid and your Adoption 
Support Consultant.

:	Q What is an adoption tax credit?

:	A You may be able to take an adoption tax credit. 
Tax benefits for adoption include both a tax 
credit for qualified adoption expenses paid 
to adopt an eligible child, and an exclusion 
from income for employer-provided adoption 
assistance. 

Consult the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or 
your tax adviser to get more in-depth and 
individualized information.

:	Q Am I required to notify Adoption Support  
if I move?

:	A Yes, you must notify your adoption support 
program consultant, in writing to maintain 
program services like medical and the monthly 
cash payment. The US Postal Service will not 
forward your monthly cash payments. If you have 
direct deposit and move without notifying your 
consultant your monthly cash payment may be 
held until your updated address is received.

When Moving Out of State

:	Q When does coverage for Medicaid  
begin in my new state?

:	A All children who participate in the adoption 
support program are eligible for medical assistance 
through Medicaid. If the family resides outside 
of Washington State and is receiving Federal 
IV-E Adoption Assistance benefits, Medicaid is 
paid by the state of residence. The Federal IV-E 
determination is noted on your adoption support 
agreement. If you have questions about this status, 
please ask your consultant when you contact them 
about the move.

If the child is not eligible for Federal IV-E Adoption 
Assistance benefits Medicaid benefits will be 
provided directly from Washington State or the 
state of residence if that state has reciprocal 
Medicaid coverage. Medicaid benefits included 
in Washington’s Medicaid Plan, but excluded or 
limited by the resident state’s Medicaid Plan remain 
available through Washington State’s Medicaid 
program. Upon request, the Washington State 
Adoption Support Program staff will facilitate 
contact with the resident state to assist in 
obtaining Medicaid coverage. Medicaid coverage 
from Washington State will continue until coverage 
is extended by the resident state.

TIP: If your child requires monthly medication, make sure 
that you get enough to last through the end of the month.

Community Services/Supports

:	Q How do I find support groups?

:	A Support groups that serve adoptive, guardianship, 
foster and kinships caregivers are being developed 
around the state. For information about these 
groups, contact your local DCYF office or the 
Foster Parent and Caregiver Support line at 
1-800-301-1868.

Things to remember:

When changing addresses, whether within the state 
or moving to another state, it is important to notify 
your adoption support program consultant. If your 
child is turning 18 and is still in school, they may be 
eligible for an extension. Call your adoption support 
program consultant for details. 
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Online Resources

Website for the Center  
for Adoption Medicine
At the University of Washington, our resource for 
medical and developmental issues in adoption  
and pediatrics.

www.adoptmed.org/home

Mental Health Services
The Health Care Authority (HCA) provides funding 
and oversight for mental health services for people 
enrolled with Apple Health (Medicaid).

www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/
behavioral-health-recovery/mental-health-services

North American Council  
on Adoptable Children
Provides adoption information and services for 
children in the United States foster care system.

www.nacac.org

National Organization on Fetal Alcohol 
Syndrome – Washington State 
NOFAS Washington State is a source for  
support and resources for individuals with Fetal 
Alcohol Spectrum Disorder, their caregivers and 
community providers.

www.nofaswa.org

Child Welfare Information Gateway 
Resources on all aspects of domestic and 
intercountry adoption, including adoption from 
foster care. Includes information for prospective 
and adoptive parents, information about searching 
for birth relatives and resources for professionals 
on recruiting adoptive families, preparing children 
and youth, supporting birth parents, providing post 
adoption services.

www.childwelfare.gov/adoption/index.cfm

Washington State Medicaid: 
A resource to locate ProviderOne Medicaid 
providers in Washington State.

https://fortress.wa.gov/hca/p1findaprovider/

Foster Parenting & Kinship Care 
Offers information on social service resources.

www.dcyf.wa.gov/services/foster-parenting

http://www.adoptmed.org/home
http://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/behavioral-health-recovery/mental-health-services
http://www.hca.wa.gov/health-care-services-supports/behavioral-health-recovery/mental-health-services
http://www.nacac.org
http://www.nofaswa.org
http://www.childwelfare.gov/adoption/index.cfm
http://www.dcyf.wa.gov/services/foster-parenting
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