Reporting Responsibilities

For Group Care Facilities

WAC 110-145: The following tables are intended as a guide to group care facilities. The text below is condensed; full text can be found in WAC 110-145-1535 through 110-145-1550.

Report to DCYF Intake within 48 hours (1-866-363-4276) and child's worker and tribal case manager.

Death of child in care.

Suspected, or disclosure of, physical or sexual abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a child.

Sexual contact between children not considered typical play between preschool aged children.

Child's suicide attempt **requiring** medical treatment or hospitalization.

Physical restraint alleged to be improper or excessive.

Physical assault between children **resulting** in off-site medical attention or hospitalization.

Physical assault of foster parent, employee, volunteer, or others by a child in care **resulting** in off-site medical attention or hospitalization.

Any medication given or consumed incorrectly, **resulting** in off-site medical attention.

Any medication given or consumed incorrectly, **resulting** in off-site medical attention.

Illness, injury, or psychiatric care that is serious in nature, **requiring** immediate medical treatment or hospitalization.

Property damage that is a safety hazard and not corrected immediately or which may affect children's health and safety.

Runaway or Homeless Youth

- □ If you learn that the youth in your facility does not have parental permission to be there, you must:
 - Within 72 hours, notify the parent (unless compelling reasons exist) and provide them with the youth's whereabouts, description of the youth's condition, and how the youth came to be in contact with your facility.
 - If compelling reasons exist, notify DCYF Intake.
 - Review the public information on missing youth made available by Washington State Patrol at least once every 8 hours while the youth is at your facility. If the youth is listed as missing you must immediately notify DCYF Intake.

INTAKE: 1-866-END-HARM (1-866-363-4276)



Washington State Department of CHILDREN, YOUTH & FAMILIES



Report to child's worker and tribal case manager within 48 hours.

Treatment by a medical professional for emergency medical or emergency psychiatric care; or

Unexpected health problems outside the usual range of reactions caused by medication that **do not require** professional medical attention.

Suicidal or homicidal thoughts, gestures, or attempts that **do not require** professional medical treatment.

Any inappropriate sexual behavior by, or toward, a foster child.

Use of prohibited physical restraint for behavior management.

Physical assault between children resulting in injury, but **not requiring** professional medical treatment.

Physical assault of foster parent, employee, volunteer, or others by a child in care, **not requiring** professional medical treatment.

Medication incorrectly administered or consumed.

Drug or alcohol use by a foster child.

Child Missing from Care Reports

- Notify child's worker within six hours. If the worker is unavailable or it is after business hours, contact DCYF Intake.
- □ Contact law enforcement within six hours. Ask for the missing person report number and provide to child's worker. You must contact law enforcement immediately if:
 - Child is believed to be taken, lured from placement, or has left placement, and you believe child is at risk of physical or sexual assault or exploitation.
 - Child is age 13 or younger.
 - Child has physical, mental, or emotional conditions that, if not treated, will place child at severe risk.
 - Child is parenting or pregnant.
 - Child has an intellectual and/or developmental disability that impairs child's ability to care for self.
 - · Child has a serious alcohol or substance abuse problem.
 - Child is at risk due to other circumstances.
- □ After contacting law enforcement, contact the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children at 1-800-843-5678.
- □ If you learn of child's whereabouts or child returns to your home, report to child's worker.

Continued on Back

Reporting Responsibilities for Group Care Facilities (Continued)

WAC 110-145: The following tables are intended as a guide to Group Care Facilities. The text below is condensed; full text can be found in WAC 110-145-1535 through 110-145-1550.

Report to Regional Licensor immediately (within 72 hours)

- □ Address or phone number change.
- □ Changes in program description or population served, including capacity, age range, and sex of children you wish to serve.
- □ Changes in structure of your facility from events causing damage (e.g. fire, remodeling).
- □ Additional staff, employees, interns, contractors, or volunteers who might have unsupervised access to children in care.
- Gignificant changes in your physical condition, or that of your staff, which could affect the ability to provide care to children.
- □ Staff arrests or convictions of which you are aware that occur between the date of your license and the expiration date.
- □ Staff changes, including executive director, program manager, or master's level consultant.
- Death, retirement, or incapacity of the person who holds the license.
- □ Changes in the name of your licensed corporation or the name by which your facility is commonly known.
- □ Inappropriate sexual behavior by or toward a foster child.
- □ Use of prohibited physical restraints for behavior management.



DCYF does not discriminate and provides equal access to its programs and services for all persons without regard to race, color, gender, religion, creed, marital status, national origin, sexual orientation, age, veteran's status, or presence of any physical, sensory, or mental disability.

If you would like free copies of this publication in an alternative format or language, please contact DCYF Constituent Relations at 1-800-723-4831 or email communications@dcyf.wa.gov. DCYF PUBLICATION LIC_0004 | DSHS 22-1763 (07-2023)