100 Schools Initiative Awards

September 29, 2020
group of school age kids

The Washington State Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF) and the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) are pleased to announce the 13 organizations selected to receive a 100 Schools Initiative grant award.

Washington State was awarded the federal Preschool Development Renewal Grant (PDG) to support innovations in early learning systems from 2020 to 2022. This grant includes a focus on strengthening transitions in early childhood special education (Part C to Part B) and from early learning to K-12. At the same time, the Office of Head Start has asked Washington State to participate in an extension of the very successful Head Start Demonstration Project – the 100 Schools Initiative.

Beginning Sept. 1, 2020, 13 selected teams will identify a high-priority goal to improve transitions for children ages birth through 5 years old. With a focus on equity, teams will implement specific approaches and strategies to reduce the effects of systemic injustice and disproportionality and strengthen effective transitions for children furthest from opportunity, especially:

  • Children of American Indian/Alaska Native tribal communities
  • Black and African American children
  • Children from immigrant families, emphasizing support in the home language of English-learning families and an increase in dual-language learning environments
  • Children in families experiencing homelessness
  • Children with disabilities ages 0-3 (IDEA Part C) to inclusive preschool settings
  • Children and families in the child welfare system using healing-centered and trauma-informed practices
  • Children of migrant families

The following are the 13 teams, in alphabetical order:

  • Bethel School District
  • Bremerton School District
  • Chief Leschi Schools
  • Educational Opportunities for Children and Families
  • Granite Falls School District
  • Lower Columbia College Head Start/EHS/ECEAP
  • Mount Vernon School District
  • Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
  • Quileute Tribal School
  • Sedro-Woolley School District
  • Selah School District
  • Suquamish Tribe, Marion Forsman-Boushie Early Learning Center
  • West Valley School District #208