Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act
Foster parents will receive stimulus checks for their foster children if they claimed those children on their tax returns. The stimulus checks, as we understand it, will be based upon either 2018 or 2019 tax returns, depending on if the filer has filed 2019 returns or not. Foster parents may claim a foster child on their taxes if they meet a number of criteria:
- Child was placed with them for the majority (over 6 months) of the tax year
- Child is under the age of 19 at the end of the year or under 24 if a full-time college student for at least 5 months of the year or a permanently totally disabled person during the year.
- Child or youth didn’t provide more than 50 percent of their own support and maintenance payments don’t count in this calculation.
This may result in situations where a foster parent receives funds for a child no longer placed with them or a foster parent has a placement but does not receive funds for them. This is being handled at the federal level and therefore we do not have much control or influence on the process.
Small Business Resources
Association of Washington Businesses Resources for employers impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.
Internal Revenue Service Coronavirus Tax Relief Resources
National Council of Nonprofits’ How Nonprofits Can Utilize the New Federal Laws Dealing with COVID-19
Office of the Insurance Commission’s Coronavirus page for health, property and liability, and business insurance information
US Chamber of Commerce Coronavirus Emergency Loans Small Business Guide and Checklist
U.S. Small Business Administration Resources
- COVID-19 Economic Injury Disaster Loan Application
- SBA Guaranteed Loan
- SBA Paycheck Protection Program
WA Department of Revenue Business Relief During COVID-19 Pandemic Resources
Washington State Paid Leave COVID-19 And Paid Medical And Family Leave FAQ
We are One America COVID 19 Resources for Immigrants and Multiple Languages