Washington State Department of Health (DOH), Department of Children, Youth, and Families, and Washington State Hospital Association want to share the new Safe Haven 24-hour Hotline number: 1-888-510-2229.
Under Safe Haven law, parents in Washington may anonymously transfer their unharmed infant within 72 hours of birth to a qualified person at a designated drop-off location without being subject to criminal liability. The parent is not required to provide any identifying information to transfer the newborn. Call or text the 24/7 Hotline: 1-888-510-BABY(2229) for immediate assistance. In case of emergency, call 911.
Designated Drop-off Locations
Parents must leave their infant with an on-duty staff member (also known as a qualified person) during a designated location’s hours of operation or when it is open. They can transfer their unharmed baby to a qualified person at three types of locations where they won’t be held criminally liable.
If you have any questions, email WASafeHaven@doh.wa.gov.
Neither the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF), the State of Washington nor any of its employees makes any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, translation, product or process that is disclosed, displayed or appears on the DCYF website. For purposes of this disclaimer the term “information” includes, but is not limited to, information that is contained within any internet link that is accessible from the DCYF website.